Women Volleyball

Women Volleyball

The foundations of the Eczacıbaşı Sports Club were laid in the 1950s with the start-up of football and tennis tournaments and other sports activities in the Eczacıbaşı Group. These activities took a professional turn in 1966 with the establishment of the Eczacıbaşı Sports Club by Dr. Nejat F. Eczacıbaşı and Şakir Eczacıbaşı. In 1967, the Club became a member of the National Sports Federation, after which it began to develop and train some of the most valuable basketball, volleyball and table tennis players in the history of Turkish sports.

Before focusing its resources exclusively on women’s volleyball in the early 1990s, the Club won 13 National Championships in table tennis, eight National Championships in men’s basketball, 12 National Championships in men’s volleyball.

Since 1968, the women’s volleyball teams has won 28 National Championships, six National Cups and played in eleven European Cup Finals, winning the “European Cup Winners’ Cup” in 1999. In addition to its A-team, the Club has three junior teams that have contributed players over the years to the A team, other first division teams and the Turkish National Volleyball Team. Collectively, these teams have won more than 40 national championships.

The Women’s Volleyball Team joined the Istanbul League in 1968, becoming the Istanbul Champion in 1970. Starting from the 1972-73 season, it won the Turkish National Championship 17 years in a row which was a record-breaking streak.The Volleyball Team has won the Turkish Championship title 28 times to date.

The Team has also played in eleven European Cup Finals, winning the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1999. This was the first time that a Turkish volleyball team had won a European Championship. Furthermore, Eczacibasi Volleyball Team won 2015 CEV DenizBank Volleyball Champions League and 2015 FIVB Women’s Club World Championship.

This was the start of the Eczacıbaşı Women’s Volleyball Team’s impressive record in the European League: second place in 1980, fourth place in 1984, third place in 1993, and finally, unbeaten European Champion in 1999 in the European Cup Winners’ Cup finals held in Bursa. In 2000, the team placed third, and in 2001 and 2002 it placed fourth. In 2005, placing third in the Top Teams Cup. Team which played in the Final Four of the European Cup in 2009 and 2014 placed fourth in the Champions League. Eczacibasi VitrA Volleyball Team won the 2015 CEV DenizBank Volleyball Champions League and the FIVB Women’s Club World Championship in 2015 and 2016.

In 2018, The Orange and Whites brought the CEV Cup trophy to their museum.

In 2002, the Eczacıbaşı Sports Club also established a highly successful chess team, which won three national championships before the team was disbanded in 2007. In July 2001, the Eczacıbaşı Sports Club moved its teams to a new, 1,700 square meter sports facility that has a CEV-approved competition hall with seating for up to 1,000 spectators.

Eczacıbaşı VitrA Volleyball Team has made a powerful start into the 2018-2019 season by winning the Spor Toto Champions Cup.

In the 2018-2019 season, Eczacıbaşı VitrA Volleyball Team clinched two significant titles namely the 2018 Spor Toto Champions Cup (Turkish Super Cup) and 2019 AXA Sigorta Kupa Voley (Turkish Cup).

In October 2019, Eczacıbaşı VitrA won the Turkish Super Cup for the second consecutive year.

President's Message

Fundamental Principles